Gods, Saints, Nudes and Knights

Hope no-one was too shocked to see a load of naked women suddenly appear on this site yesterday, only to disappear again. They belong on my other site which I’m in the process of setting up.  

http://godssaintsnudesandknights.wordpress.com/

I’ve mastered the scanner and am now trying to master the art of loading up the site with my illustration work. I’ll be concentrating on a vague project I’ve been dabbling with for ages of illustrating the two epic poems “Orlando Innamorato” and “Orlando Furioso”, an absurdly ambitious task, but it keeps me out of mischief. 

For fun I’ve started by uploading a lot of rough stuff, mostly nudes and sketches done in museums. Plus a few hundred saints I drew twenty five years ago for a projected “Lives of The Saints” which never saw the light of day. Halfway through the editor bought a mailing list  of devout Christians from Readers Digest and decided our light-hearted approach to the history of the Church might offend, so most of my drawings have been gathering dust in a cupboard. They’re all based on authentic sources which I’ll try and detail when I’ve worked out how to combine text with thumbnails.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gods, Saints, Nudes and Knights

  1. alexjc38 says:

    Just relieved that these weren’t figments of my deranged imagination, brought on by too much conspiracist thinking.. They look very good, although I’m no real judge. Best of luck with your project – being “absurdly ambitious” is a good thing, anyway, it’s one of the reasons why we’re all here, after all.

    By the way, your avatar kind of resembles a close-up of a bee, and immediately I noticed it, the connections were obvious – the golden bees of the Merovingians, Rennes-le-Chateau, the bloodine of the Holy Grail, Languedoc, etc., very clever and symbolic, relating to the region where you live, your various identities on Guardian CiF, and so on.

    It all fits (I thought.) Then realised it’s actually the depiction of a man’s head on some ancient pottery. Ah well..

  2. I’m wildly impressed – but then, I have difficulty making a box look like a box. I also enjoyed Alex’s comment (above).

Leave a Reply

